News Image

The new set will be released on May 31st 2024 via Arts & Crafts, marking their first full-length project in over a decade.

Idaho, the renowned California slowcore ensemble, has unveiled exciting news for their devoted fans – their highly anticipated new album, titled "Lapse," is set to release on May 31st via Arts & Crafts, marking their first full-length project in over a decade.


Led by co-founding vocalist and multi-instrumentalist Jeff Martin, alongside guitarist-songwriter Robert Fronzo, Idaho's upcoming album promises to captivate listeners with its introspective melodies and hauntingly beautiful compositions. The album's debut single, On Fire offers a glimpse into the band's sonic evolution, drawing inspiration from their roots while embracing a fresh, contemporary sound.


For Martin, "Lapse" serves as a poignant reflection on Idaho's musical journey, harkening back to the band's humble beginnings while forging new paths in the ever-evolving landscape of indie rock. Tragically, the band experienced the loss of co-founding member John K. Berry in early 2016, adding an emotional layer to their latest artistic endeavor.


The recording process for "Lapse" commenced in early 2022, amidst the tranquil desert backdrop of 29 Palms, California. Martin fondly recalls the lively atmosphere of New Year's Eve at the Out There bar, followed by the creative immersion within his mother's desert abode. With guitarist Robby Fronzo by his side and the comforting presence of their canine companions, the album began to take shape, paying homage to Idaho's rich musical legacy while embracing new found inspiration.


The ethereal beauty of the high desert landscape infused "Lapse" with its distinct character, as Martin and Fronzo found solace and creative energy amidst the vast expanse of the desert sky. Martin extends his heartfelt gratitude to his mother, Lynda, for graciously opening her home to the creative process, allowing Idaho to explore new sonic territories with unabashed freedom.


In addition to their forthcoming album, Idaho will also treat fans to a special vinyl box set featuring their seminal works, including "Year After Year" (1993), "This Way Out" (1994), and "Three Sheets to the Wind" (1996), alongside a bonus disc of rare and unreleased material from the band's early years. This comprehensive collection offers a nostalgic journey through Idaho's illustrious discography, showcasing the band's enduring influence on the indie rock scene.


IDAHO "On Fire" new music video:


Lapse Album Tracklisting available here:

  1. Kamikaze
  2. On Fire
  3. West Side
  4. Heaven on Earth
  5. Heat Seek
  6. Somehow
  7. Snakes
  8. Across the Sky
  9. Throw the Game
  10. 29 Palms